Keeping Lent 2011

Giving up and taking up

Vote in our poll to find out what the most popular Lenten observances:

What are you giving up for Lent?                                    What are you taking up for Lent?

 
 

I am giving up Custard Creams. I carry a little extra padding about the middle and my children ascribe this to a predilection to eating (their) Custard Cream Biscuits.

I think they may be right. We shall see …

 

I am taking up learning the Lord’s Prayer in Greek. I learned Greek at school and university so this should not be as hard as it might seem, though I am very rusty…

What has struck me immediately about our beloved Lord’s Prayer  is how poetic it is in the original. Lots of rhyming and a very strong lilt just like in the English:

For example the 3rd and 4th  lines

ἐλθέτω ἡ βασιλεία σου
γενηθήτω τὸ θέλημά σου

Elthetor hair basilaira su
Generthertor to thelerma su

Thy Kingdom come
Thy will be done

So far so good with both observances – but it is very early days!

How are you getting on?

This entry was posted in Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

